Driving through the desert - Reisverslag uit Piura, Peru van Gilles Havik - WaarBenJij.nu Driving through the desert - Reisverslag uit Piura, Peru van Gilles Havik - WaarBenJij.nu

Driving through the desert

Door: Gilles

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Gilles

10 Februari 2009 | Peru, Piura

I can not move the toes of my right foot. They lack blood. At my right, a man with a cap is sitting with his head against the chair in front of him. He tries to get some sleep. I would do that to if my head could rest on something. But it can't, so I don't. In some way, the man closes one of my veins.
When I turn my head left my chin finds itself above the head of another man, who's head rests on the seat we're sitting on. I would kiss him on his lips if I nod. I imagine how that would change the current situation. It would probably end up with me standing on the street. So I decide not to nod. His face is covered with bushy gray-black hair. He has thick worker hands, and a tough skin because of the strong sun. Probably a fisherman, just like eight other peruvians in this car.
That's right: we're with ten in total. The driver, and two more people in front. Four people in the backseat (I'm one of them), and half of the trunk is occupied by three kids, who speak the language of grown up gangsters. The other half is filled with fisherman stuff.
We come out of Puerto Rico, which is the village closest to the place where I have spent the night in my tent: my research area. I have measured the plants this morning, and am heading back to Piura. This trip will take an hour. After that I'll move to a little bus, a combi, and sit there for another hour.
The cap of the man at my right, decides to leave the car through the window. The man says something about 14 soles. But we drive on. The trip costs 5, so he could go back if the cap is really important.
We pass a village with houses with straw roofs. One of them has a satelite on it. The first thing I think is: doesn't that thing get stolen?
I have found out that Peru is full of robbers. Two attempts of robbery and one actual one have made me less trusting of the South Americans.
One was really sneaky. I was standing next to a wall, bag on the ground, and surrounded my taxi-drivers whom I occasionally spoke with. Waiting for 600 botles to come. As they do these days. At a certain moment, a woman on the phone showed me a coin, with a gest of: 'do you have change?'. I walked towards her, knowing I left my bag on the ground, looking back every ten seconds. When I looked for change in my wallet, I found out I dindn't have it. I wanted to look back again, but the woman made a big gest of: 'oh, then maybe she has change', pointing at a lady who sells cocos. 'She probably does, I thought, when looking back at my bag again'. But it was gone.
I looked further, and saw a fat man walking away with it. Smiling. I thought it probably was a joke. I walked after him, and took my bag back. He walked on, and just around the corner, a taxi picked him up. The woman of the phone was sitting inside aswell. And a group of kids. Masters of distraction. That's what they are. And organised. So I train my focus now. Do not trust any stranger in Peru. They all told me so in the beginning, and I start beleiving them. So far I lost 2 mobile phones and a bankcard. Were they all robbed? O well, I still have my passport.
The road is long. I'm hoping to see the first glipse of Sechura, but it's still far away. I'll have to endure some more. It's way to hot, but the driver is cool. He gave me a free ride a few days ago. At least I still trust him. I am sure my toes will get their blood back soon.

  • 11 Februari 2009 - 06:05

    Carlos:

    ah yes, women! Just like men...

  • 11 Februari 2009 - 09:10

    Renske:

    t Is alleen Peru hoor, verder valt het heel erg mee. Maar in Peru is t inderdaad moeilijk niet beroofd te worden. Heb je wel weer een leuk verhaal, ja toch? Verder alles goed? Hier mis je niet veel, alleen de prieelvogel en t vogelbekdier.

  • 22 Februari 2009 - 12:29

    Karin:

    gaat nog steeds goed daaro? Hier is het nu carnaval. Ik zat me er al weken op te verheugen, maar nu het zo ver is zit ik snipverkouden thuis een beetje tegen het studeren aan te hikken..ook leuk. Groetjes uit Oeteldonk!
    x

  • 09 April 2009 - 21:35

    Verena:

    spannend om te lezen... grappig dat je zo maar vreemden kust als je je hoofd beweegt in een busje

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Peru, Piura

How to study birdshit?

ñ

Recente Reisverslagen:

20 April 2009

The Railroad

02 Maart 2009

Carnaval in Cajamarca

10 Februari 2009

Driving through the desert

09 Januari 2009

And we call him...

20 December 2008

A day of Christmas Generosity
Gilles

ñ

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 160
Totaal aantal bezoekers 29052

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Juli 2011 - 01 Augustus 2011

Friendhopping

09 September 2009 - 13 Januari 2010

Mountaintrips and Medicine

29 Oktober 2008 - 26 Januari 2009

How to study birdshit?

12 Januari 2010 - 30 November -0001

Hanging round home

Landen bezocht: