An average day of a tall dutchman in Peru - Reisverslag uit Piura, Peru van Gilles Havik - WaarBenJij.nu An average day of a tall dutchman in Peru - Reisverslag uit Piura, Peru van Gilles Havik - WaarBenJij.nu

An average day of a tall dutchman in Peru

Door: Gilles

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Gilles

28 November 2008 | Peru, Piura

Hi there!

Right now I'm eating chifles and sitting behind the computer screen at home. Chifles are like chrisps (chips), but made of banana. They taste better, and the greasy feeling that they leave you with feels better than with chrisps. Great stuff!
The house, for those who don t know that yet, is inhabited by a family (dad, mom, two brothers, a sister and a cat) a maid, and 5 fellow students.
We get up at around 6.30 to eat breakfast. Breakfast means two little breads with mortadella, a glass of milk, and the best part of every morning, a glass of fresh juice. The television is allways on. When we ate breakfast, we do a 15 minute walk to the uni. Buildings on the campus are white, and the nature area is gorgeous. Squirells, deer and a lot of peacocks (pauwen) which you often find doing their macho-thing with you when you try to pass by. The others take classes, but go there for with my experiment. For that, I am putting leafs I collected in a huge grinder for a few seconds, then I clean the grinder for 20 minutes so that the data dont get mixed up, and after that I repeat the process afterwards. You can probably imagine what a joy I recieve each time I actually get to grind thew leafs.

At the end of the morning, I like it very much to walk around on the market. People allways warn me for the peligro if I go there, so I watch out, but I just love the colours and the atmosphere there. You know that most of the things you see are from the neigbourhood, especially the fish. People try to sell me a lot, but I hold of most of the time, but I enjoy their nice way of being.

Around 12.30, I get back to the casa, to take a (cold) shower, and then we gather for the almuerza, lunch. That is when all the students get together. We have discussion about how rich peru would be if cocaine was legalized here, or about if abortion and euthanasia should be legalised here too. Or they ask me to teach them english. The boys here are pretty philosophical, so we also discuss topics like god, and political systems. We eat separately from the family. Lunch consists of rice, chicken or fish, and from time to time a slice of tomato.

In the afternoon, I go back from 3 to 7 more or less, depending on the work I have to do. After that it is time for la cena, similar to the almuerza but smaller. Still with the television on. At night, my new friends and I find some time for the occasional chela (beer). Im allready a big fan of the cusqueña negra. But not every bar has that.

That is pretty much my daily life as it is now, and as it has been the first moon of my stay here in Piura. I do about one or two excursions of more than an hour away per week, which gives me the distraction I tend to long for. The day to day thing is about to change, however, because the holidays are about to start, making our house a lot calmer, because the students leave. I am thinking about moving to a more active area, even closer to uni, where I can be more independent, and explore the market in a more active way. But I heavent found a room with kitchen yet.

¡That s it again for now, folks! Enjoy Sinterklaas for those who celebrate, and dont freeze to death, I want to see you again : )

  • 30 November 2008 - 10:40

    Carlos:

    En este ser la misma vida como lo hizo en NL: amigos, buena comida, la cerveza, poco trabajo, una excursión. Por lo tanto, es siempre sólo de julio.
    Ninguno St aquí en La Hulpe, ni siquiera un negro Pedro.

  • 03 December 2008 - 10:58

    Henk:

    Hey Gilles

    Nu eens een berichtje vanuit je eigen kamer :)Die mensen zijn echt klein daar :P
    Sinds maandag zit ik in je kamer en bevalt me prima, alleen Tobi en Otto stinken een beetje maar dat went ook wel weer.

    succes verder met je onderzoek!

    Groeten Henk

  • 04 December 2008 - 17:09

    Harmen:

    Yo Giel,

    Al benijdend vroeg ik me af of je niet zo'n Pauw naar Droef kunt
    versturen?

    Groetjes Harmen,

    ps kun je je schrijfkunst nog wijdden aan de nieuwe Dahlia, deadline is 11 december.

    Groenten

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Peru, Piura

How to study birdshit?

ñ

Recente Reisverslagen:

20 April 2009

The Railroad

02 Maart 2009

Carnaval in Cajamarca

10 Februari 2009

Driving through the desert

09 Januari 2009

And we call him...

20 December 2008

A day of Christmas Generosity
Gilles

ñ

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 143
Totaal aantal bezoekers 29091

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Juli 2011 - 01 Augustus 2011

Friendhopping

09 September 2009 - 13 Januari 2010

Mountaintrips and Medicine

29 Oktober 2008 - 26 Januari 2009

How to study birdshit?

12 Januari 2010 - 30 November -0001

Hanging round home

Landen bezocht: