A place of death - Reisverslag uit Piura, Peru van Gilles Havik - WaarBenJij.nu A place of death - Reisverslag uit Piura, Peru van Gilles Havik - WaarBenJij.nu

A place of death

Door: Gilles

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Gilles

09 November 2008 | Peru, Piura

Full of love for everything I see, I walk straight into the sea. It has been a tough morning: we have been measuring trees positions and taking samples of their leaves. Sounds simple. Is simple, were it not that the sun over here burns through everything I wear. While sampling, vultures (aasgieren) were flying in circles above our heads, waiting for one of us to drop on the sandy rocks, so that they could rip us apart, and spread our bodies back into this deadly foodweb. Now is definitely the time to cool down.
When I walk into the water, over the sand, between two large black rocks, red and blue crabs crawl away, afraid that I might hurt them. But that is far away from my intention. I just want to swim.
The waves are high, and the water is cold, but that does not matter to me. I stare into the horizon while I go deeper, and I feel happy. I am one with this deadly place. When I see a large wave, I dive into it, and feel the heat of my body flow away into the sea. This is beauty.
I stand up, full of enjoyment. All my attention suddenly gets pulled into my heel. Something sharp swiftly moves into it. I jump up, and feel something swim against my other foot. So I jump up with my other foot, but when I land with my first foot, I feel the sting burn worse than before, so I get back onto my healthy foot, trying to keep my balance. That is not easy, because a strong wave tries to knock me down. I stumble back upon the beach, heading to the camp. Every step hurts like hell, but all I can think is, I have to know what stung me. While I m hoping I dont have to go to a hospital (that would include a three quarters of an hour walk over rough terrain under the burning sun), I see lots of skulls and skeletons lying around between the stones. But they dont enter my mind.
When I look at my foot, I see blood flowing out of it, and I start to hope it was a ray that stung me: they are not so poisonous.
At camp, I find Allessandro Catenazzi cooking some spagetti over a campfire. He confirms it was a ray, so Im relaxed again, and treat the wound. But it still stings like nothing that stung me before.
The camp lies in a small little valley between two rocks of about ten metres high. They offer shade and protection against the strong winds at night.
When the moon shines on it from straight above, one of the rocks looks remarkably much like a skull. The others see it too.
Each of my companions is one of a kind. Allessandro is a half italian half peruvian leader type. He is an expert on lizards. This is why Yohani, a pretty active Peruvian girl, is a big fan of him. She knows a lot about him, even though he lives in the states. She refers to him as Don Allesandro. He teaches her how to catch treat lizards. Till now, day two, she caught none, (but she is learning).
Our last companion is Luis. He has been assigned by Milena (my supervisor in Holland) as my protector and guardian, and I can tell you: he is a natural. When I climb a rock, he says cuidado! But I allready know when he is going to say that, so we can both laugh about it. He was gone when I got stung. I guess it wouldnt have happened otherwise. Besides, he is a great cook, even in the field!
The last night, at the campfire, he tells me about a ghosthouse where his now dead grandma used to live. Many of his friends have slept there, but ran away before the end of the night. Im obviously interested, so you ll hear the story of my night in there somewhere next week I suppose.
But the best thing I heard at the campfire, was said by Yohani. As a reply to Allessandros statement that hell might be more interesting than heaven, she said: pero Don Allessandro, en el cielo hay la Biodiversidaaad. She is a very pure girl.
Next saturday, Im invited to a wedding in Piura. Im going to buy a tie for that, coz they say that is normal. And I dont want to fall out of the boat!

I wish you all good luck for now. It is time for me to eat. Stories are comming up!

Ciao!

Gilles

  • 10 November 2008 - 07:34

    Zus:

    Zeg Bro!

    Waarom schrijf je nou in 't Engels? En wat is een ray? Een rog? Die zijn best gevaarlijk toch? Zijn ze een beetje giftig? Heb je nog pijn, of ben je ziek geworden? Wel cool die verhalen hoor, ik wil wel mee naar dat spookhuis...Heb je al foto's?

    Kus van je zus

  • 10 November 2008 - 08:46

    Mem:

    Getsie Gilles, ik weet niet of ik al die enge dingen wel wil weten! Ik wil je wel graag weer levend terug zien, afgesproken???
    Maar geniet toch maar van al je waaghalzerij anders is het nog voor niks ook, neem iemand mee naar je spookhuis, je weet het maar nooit!

    liefs mem

  • 10 November 2008 - 13:43

    Milena:

    Blijf maar dicht bij Luis, zie je toch? Genieten mag wel... maar CUIDADO !!!

    Milena

  • 10 November 2008 - 17:22

    Alex:

    Goed bezig sjiel :). Ik zie je al in die zee rennen en dan ineens *ploinggg* :P rogje.

    Anyway, enjoy zou ik zeggen en ik wacht op de foto's he :)

    grtz, alex!

  • 13 November 2008 - 09:39

    Plu:

    Heej dude, Klinkt allemaal goed zeg! misschien moet je maar gelijk een boek schrijven? Ben benieuwd hoe je het verder gaat vergaan. hier op droef is alles rustig, was van de week ff een paar dagen in belgie klimmen en hiken. was erg leuk. spreek je snel weer...

    Plu

  • 16 November 2008 - 02:06

    Alito:

    Dude! Hoe is je voet? Neem Luis de volgende keer mee naar de roggen, he. Of in ieder geval de stropdas, om niet uit de boot te vallen. Fotootjes zien er bijzonder chill uit

    yogho yogho

    Disfruta hermano

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Peru, Piura

How to study birdshit?

ñ

Recente Reisverslagen:

20 April 2009

The Railroad

02 Maart 2009

Carnaval in Cajamarca

10 Februari 2009

Driving through the desert

09 Januari 2009

And we call him...

20 December 2008

A day of Christmas Generosity
Gilles

ñ

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 102
Totaal aantal bezoekers 29099

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Juli 2011 - 01 Augustus 2011

Friendhopping

09 September 2009 - 13 Januari 2010

Mountaintrips and Medicine

29 Oktober 2008 - 26 Januari 2009

How to study birdshit?

12 Januari 2010 - 30 November -0001

Hanging round home

Landen bezocht: