Questions - Reisverslag uit Huancaya, Peru van Gilles Havik - WaarBenJij.nu Questions - Reisverslag uit Huancaya, Peru van Gilles Havik - WaarBenJij.nu

Questions

Door: Gilles

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Gilles

28 November 2009 | Peru, Huancaya

The dinner table. I´m part of the solid centre of the people who eat here now. Most of them are workers. They come and go. My mood is bad.
At the other head of the table sits a new guy. He is not handsome, so I focus on my food. Or I try.
"Where are you from, mister?"
"Holland"
"In which part of the states is that?"
"It´s in Europe"
"Oh...
How is the weather in the States?"
For some reason, Peruvians all have a tremendous admiration for the white. I feel bad for them when I am heaving the same conversation for the 100th time. I usually answer politely. Some days shorter than others.
"I´m not from the States, I´m from Europe"
"Oh, is that not in the States?"
"No" I have to give this guy more information, or he´ll keep asking.
"It´s on the other end of the Atlantic" I say, hoping he'll understand.
I can not escape giving him a very short summary of the weather in Holland.
"How much does the trip to Europe cost?"
This is a very common question for a Peruvian to ask a stranger. Definitely in the top three of second questions. But it accentuates our difference, I have money, he does not..It makes me feel uncomfortable.
"4000"
"Dollars?"
"No, Soles"
For a moment, he stops asking, and lets me eat. The table conversation centres around other topics and people now. I eat, missing real conversations with ancient friends. Like hugging an old tree.
"Is the president of Holland like Obama?" I have to make him pronounce the name of Obama three times before I get who he means.
"Holland has a Queen"
"Does Holland have a Queen? And a King aswell?"
Oh damn. Shouldn't have mentioned that. I curse my sympathy for fellow humans.
I explain him that that´s not the case now, because the reign of the country, goes from generation to generation, and the oldest kid of the last king or queen gets the crown. If that is a woman, the one she marries is called Prince, because otherwise it sounds more powerfull than Queen, while the queen is the most powerfull presence in the country. Every word is more than an effort.
"Oh. Can someone else become the king"
"No, it goes from generation to generation"
"Oh. So no one else can become the king?"
"No" this guy is not to be messed with, I am forced to mention the prime minister, but I don´t picture our national Harry Potter. I couldn't have him here at the dinner table too.
Futile, this situation, it could pass effortless yet I do not want to be here. I want to be alone.
When my food is up, I stand up, and say thanks.
"Are you leaving already? The conversation was so interesting"
"Very interesting" I say, and leave with a polite goodbye.
Outside, I feel releived. Strange how simple questions can press. I wonder if peruvians just don´t feel my lack of enthusiasm, or if they are just so eager to talk with this tall stranger that they forget everything about personal borders.
The following days, my questioner turns out to be a guy you can laugh with.

  • 29 November 2009 - 15:46

    Je Zus:

    Ghihihihi! Ik vind dit verhaal ook al hilarisch. Kus van je zus

  • 30 November 2009 - 14:58

    Je Oom:

    zo zo zo, dus Holland heeft een queen. Maar je weet toch dat 'the King' uit the States komt. Je maakt het ook wel ingewikkeld Gilles
    Groeten, Dirk

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Peru, Huancaya

Mountaintrips and Medicine

Recente Reisverslagen:

11 Januari 2010

The Guide

24 December 2009

The comedown

05 December 2009

Back to Basic

28 November 2009

Questions

02 November 2009

Under fish
Gilles

ñ

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 168
Totaal aantal bezoekers 29060

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Juli 2011 - 01 Augustus 2011

Friendhopping

09 September 2009 - 13 Januari 2010

Mountaintrips and Medicine

29 Oktober 2008 - 26 Januari 2009

How to study birdshit?

12 Januari 2010 - 30 November -0001

Hanging round home

Landen bezocht: